you are young and life is long

Hello there! Today is Wednesday, a.k.a. remove Sara’s pins day! I am at the hospital already, having my final surgery of this ordeal. I finished this post that should have been one of the first posts I made… and scheduled it for today. Enjoy!

I see many of the blogs that I’m currently reading are doing the 30 for 30 challenge. I have seen several versions of this, including one from Miss Minimalist and one from Everyday Kendi. I had read about this a while ago, and it actually inspired me to clean out my closet. I have weeded my closet down to 35 items (including shoes) plus a few t-shirts I need to try on and style. I currently have two piles of clothing off to the side:

  1. TO DONATE: gently worn & sellable items that I know a local second-hand store will not take. These items will be donated to my mother’s church for a fund-raising rummage sale in April.
  2. TO SELL:  items that are name brand, and in good to great condition that I believe a second-hand store will take. I will use the trade amount to buy new items to place some of what I am getting rid of. What is not taken will then be sorted again into things I can use in my new wardrobe, or donated to the rummage sale also.

At this point in time, the 30×30 challenge is not something I am able to do. Current clothing count is 35 items, plus shoes and accessories. I am trying to build up my wardrobe, so this will likely be something I pursue trying in the future. I don’t think it will be hard for me, as I’ve only had 35 items for the past few months {since Nov not counting, as I’ve hardly worn anything but pajamas!}. I may bend the rules a bit and make it more challenging for me.

Right now, I’m trying to re-style my closet. I’m going through everything, trying to keep only great pieces that I can wear many different ways with many different things. I’m planning a shopping trip soon, after I can walk and spend all day trying things on and running around, to buy what I lack. I hope to find everything second hand. Malls and stores will only be backup.

I know you may be wondering why I have so few items in my closet. As I mentioned in my first post, I am a minimalist. Without going into great detail (that is for another post!), I believe that everything I own should be of importance of me, and carefully selected. I have been through my excessive spending stage. I have lots of credit card debt. And I realize that working to buy things was not the lifestyle that was working for me. In the past 2 years, I have moved 7 times {don’t judge- they have all been choices!} and each time I have ditched things that I no longer needed or wanted. But i still have so. much. stuff! I want to make it a point to be able to pack everything in my car and go if I want. Right now, I can’t even do that. But when I move in a few months, I certainly will take advantage of the situation and carefully choose what moves and what is donated.

But I digress. Back to clothing. I have always had so much clothing that I have things never worn with tags. Why -WHY- do I do this? It doesn’t make sense to me. If I really loved it so much to buy it, why do I find it hidden in my closet, never worn, 3 months later? I want everything in my closet to go with *just about* everything else. I admit, I wear a lot of black and grey. I don’t know why, I am just attracted to those colors. This makes it easier to mix & match!

I have many hippie tendencies. Good or bad, I don’t know, but they are there {Cue schpiel about embracing who you are and loving yourself}. I love the 1960’s and 1970’s. I am a very earthy person. I want my closet to match my personality. It shouldn’t be full of clothes that I would wear if I were a different person {which has been a mistake I’ve made in the past and in hindsight why some clothing has gone unworn} or clothing to make me who I think I should be. It should be about ME. Clothes are the first thing people see about someone.

I want my clothing to be simple. If I’ve had a pajama day, and the boyfriend decides last minute that he wants to go do something, I want to be able to throw something together that looks nice (not just jeans and a t-shirt) but doesn’t take a lot of thought. The more clothing I have, the more planning it takes, which leaves less time for life and things I enjoy.

Two years ago, I had a decent blog. I planned my outfits out a month at a time, wrote it all out, and posted pictures every day. I spent a good 4-6 hours planning my outfits for the entire month. I had an entire closet full of clothes. And you know what? It didn’t make me a better person. I wasn’t any happier. I certainly wasn’t richer. Having a small closet doesn’t make me better or richer, either, but I can say that I am happier. Happier that I have time to live life, and not be obsessed about these things.

Please, please please do NOT get me wrong- I don’t think negatively about anyone who is into clothing, fashion, and style the way that I am not. I am not ragging on anyone. I am just stating who I am NOT anymore. Minimalism isn’t just a ‘fad’ to me. Minimalism is a lifestyle. A way to enjoy myself and those that surround me.

I’m also not going to attempt to talk anyone into being a minimalist. If what I said strikes you, I’ll be happy to talk with you more. Have any questions? Feel free to contact me and ask me. I’ll give you the best answer I can, and maybe even make a post about it. But I want you to think about something:

If there was a fire at your place, and you could only grab a few things in a few seconds (let’s say you had less than a minute), what would you grab and why?

-OR-

You’re moving across the state, country, etc. You’re traveling by plane. You have one piece of luggage to check, one carry on, and one personal item. What do you take? {For the sake of argument, furniture is provided for you at your destination}

 

I’d love to hear your answers, so leave them down below or link to your blog if you make this into a post! These fascinate me!

title song: “Time” by Pink Floyd

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

