you’re way too beautiful girl

Happy Friday!!!! Today’s FBFF post is all about reflection & body image. It was interesting & fun to think about these questions. Read my answers here, then head over to Katy’s blog to check out what other ladies had to say, or to link up your own!

1. Since you started blogging has your image of yourself changed? Oh, man! I haven’t been blogging long, BUT- I am going to be completely honest. Sometimes, I think I look cute, and I take a picture of myself, and it’s like, “Damn, what happened in the 3 seconds it took for my camera to turn on?” I have made conscious decisions of what I’m going to wear- I don’t just ‘throw something on’ anymore. I am not happy with my body after seeing pictures. But I’ve always loved my curves- and so have other people. I dated a guy one time who, when I started losing some weight, told me that I was losing my curves and he was unhappy about that. I wouldn’t say my image of myself has become negative, exactly, but it certainly hasn’t become more positive.
2. Are you self-conscious about any aspect of yourself? If so, do you go out of your way to avoid it or do you post it/talk about it anyway? I am very self-conscious about two parts of my body: my belly and my face. I do well to hide my belly, for the most part, wearing size-appropriate clothing. You know how they say not to look at or worry about size? Just buy what fits? Yeah, sometimes that’s hard when places don’t have sizes you need. Definitely makes me feel like the fat ass I am not. I love my curves. I embrace them. But the belly? Jeeze.Certain angles make my face look HUGE, or display my double chin, two things that have only recently begun to happen. When I take face pictures, I do them at an angle that best hides these pesky attributes. There are some things I love, but these aren’t one of them. I say I go out of my way to avoid them. I take many pictures, not just of my outfits but of life in general, and sometimes I’ll be lucky if ONE of them captures me in a flattering way. I avoid these issues. Maybe I shouldn’t, though.
3. Based on how you are feeling now, what do you think the future
holds in the evolution of your body image? Well, I am closer to being able to walk on my own, which means getting back into daily yoga, walking, running, and exercise. I want to at least get the weight off that I gained while being semi-bedridden, if not more. I think taking pictures of my outfits will allow me- and you, the reader- to see this transformation, and hopefully make me happier about it.
4. Do you photograph yourself for your blog? If so, how do you feel about the experience when you’re having your picture taken? I occasionally post pictures on the blog. It’s more because I’m not getting dressed every day. When I do dress, I take a picture. That aside, I hate it right now. I have a crappy mirror that I have to take my pic in because I cannot get into position on the 10-second self timer my camera has. Maybe when I’m able to move around faster, or have the boy take pics, I’ll enjoy it more.
5. What would you want every person who struggles with body image to take to heart? That everyone is beautiful. I know it’s a cliche, but really- when a woman loves herself & loves her body, what is sexier or more beautiful than that? You attract the RIGHT type of guys and the RIGHT type of friends that way. It took me a long time to believe this is actually true, but here I am. I believe it. I hope you do, too, and if not, write that down. Learn it, love it, live it.

 

title: “Beautiful Girls” by Sean Kingston

This entry was posted in blog love, hops, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment